New Bedford Celebrates Small Business Success!

Six New Bedford businesses were awarded for their success at the New Bedford Economic Development Council Third Annual Small Business Awards Dinner the held September 27 at the Hawthorne Country Club.

“We consider the annual awards dinner as a kind of graduation ceremony. The owners of these businesses have successfully embarked on the next step–the growth of their business,” said Scott Costa, NBEDC board chairman. “The backbone of a local economy is its small business community,” he continued, “and their efforts should be recognized.”

The award-winning business owners are first nominated in their respective category by the NBEDC loan committee and then measured for performance regarding such criteria as job creation, investment in the city, community benefit, and overall goal achievement such as reaching sales benchmarks and new product development. The committee makes the final selections.

“With the aid of the NBEDC, award winners were able to access working capital–whether it was to buy a building, purchase inventory and equipment, or just make leasehold improvements. They have been successful and the Small Business Awards Dinner is a celebration and recognition of those accomplishments,” Matthew A. Morrissey, Interim Director of the NBEDC said.

Many thanks to Nancy Gibeau for her efforts in working with each of these small businesses and putting this outstanding testimony to New Bedford’s small business’s together!

Congratulations to the 2006 Small Business Award recipients:

Entrepreneur of the Year
Owners, Knuckleheads Bar and Grille

Woman Owned Business of the Year
Mary Costa & Edna Rivera, Genesis Hair Salon

Minority Owned Business of the Year
Antonio & David Depina, Depina Brothers Trucking

Technology and Innovation Award
Craig Lindell, Aquapoint

EDA Title IX Fishing Loan
Owners, Luzo Fishing Gear

Micro Loan Business of the Year
Frank Joseph, Whaling City Graphics